Jukebox Classics: #8 Hey Jimi – The Songs Hendrix Covered

I can’t recall exactly how old I was but all I do remember is the method of Jimi Hendrix’s demise stuck in my mind.

Young enough to be impressionable, I pondered how you choked to death on your own vomit. A very rock’n’roll death if truth be told but a particularly unpleasant one.

Steve Peregrin Took, I later learned, died under similar circumstances albeit with a cocktail cherry the offending item rather than his own vomit. Drugs were involved as well in that instance.

I did peek into the murky waters of bizarre rock ‘n’ roll deaths but stopped when I read about the late and hugely unfortunate Mike Edwards, a founder member of ELO, and killed by a hay bale which rolled onto his van from adjacent farmland. As bizarre causes of death go, that’s pretty much taken the biscuit.

As Albert King sang, If it wasn’t for bad luck, I wouldn’t have no luck at all.

Hendrix’s music was rarely heard in our house growing up. Pops to this day, I don’t think has one of his lps; it wasn’t his scene. Personally, I like Axis: Bold As Love but his influences are worn firmly on his sleeve.

And this is a belting list of songs he’s covered, probably nowhere near complete as there are hundreds of bootlegs out there and some crushing limitations on the licencing granted to Spotify.

If the playlist doesn’t work here, click on this link to open.

Enjoy.

Title Band
The Star Spangled Banner The United States Air Force Band
Peter Gunn Henry Mancini
Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window? Bob Dylan
Day Tripper The Beatles
I Was Made To Love Her Stevie Wonder
Key To The Highway Big Bill Broonzy
Catfish Blues Robert Petway
I’m Your Hoochie Coochie Man Muddy Waters
(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction The Rolling Stones
Get out of My Life Woman Lee Dorsey
Stop Howard Tate
The Things That I Used To Do Guitar Slim
All Along the Watchtower Bob Dylan
Gloria – Stereo Version Them
Sunshine Of Your Love Cream
We Got To Live Together Buddy Miles
The Train Kept A-Rollin’ Tiny Bradshaw
Rock Me Baby B.B. King
Call It Stormy Monday (But Tuesday Is Just As Bad) T-Bone Walker
Everything’s Gonna Be Alright Little Walter
My Bleeding Heart Elmore James
Outside Woman Blues Blind Joe (Willie) Reynolds
Lament Jim Morrison, The Doors
Bright Lights, Big City Jimmy Reed
Killing Floor Howlin’ Wolf
Hound Dog Big Mama Thornton
Come On Earl King
Tomorrow Never Knows The Beatles
Gypsy Woman The Impressions
Blue Suede Shoes Carl Perkins
Born Under A Bad Sign Albert King
Drifter’s Escape Bob Dylan
Johnny B. Goode Chuck Berry
What’d I Say, Pt. I & II – Parts I & II Ray Charles
Mannish Boy Muddy Waters
Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band The Beatles
Wild Thing The Troggs
Like a Rolling Stone Bob Dylan
Aware Of Love The Impressions
It’s My Own Fault John Lee Hooker
God Save the Queen United Kingdom
Leave a Reply

