Jukebox Classics #2: The Jam – How Can I Be A F****** Revivalist When I’m Only 18

A collection of the originals covered by The Jam from 1975 through to the end of days.

I’d compiled most of this Spotify playlist when I recalled a compilation among the bootlegs I have, entitled, How Can I Be Fucking Revivalist When I’m Only 18?, which covers much of this very ground.

The tale of where the phrase originated from, is told in this photo from the recent exhibitions, About The Young Idea, although I can’t remember the original story was sourced from; it looks very familiar.

It might be an NME; I certainly recall a photo of Weller with the cardboard slung around his neck, complete with hand-scrawled message.

I think it was from a Fulham Greyhound gig in 1977.

There’s little earth-shattering in the choice of artists or songs; Weller has certainly been more adventurous as a solo artist but this is a healthy mix of mod, Stax and Motown.

 

Tracklisting:

Sweet Soul Music Arthur Conley
Slow Down Larry Williams
In The Midnight Hour Wilson Pickett
David Watts The Kinks
So Sad About Us – New Remix The Who
(Love Is Like A) Heat Wave Martha Reeves & The Vandellas
And Your Bird Can Sing The Beatles
Get Yourself Together Small Faces
Waterloo Sunset The Kinks
Fever Little Willie John
Big Bird Eddie Floyd
Move On Up Curtis Mayfield
Rain The Beatles
Stoned Out Of My Mind The Chi-Lites
A Legal Matter The Who
Stand By Me Ben E. King
Back In My Arms Again The Supremes
Dead End Street The Kinks
Every Little Bit Hurts Brenda Holloway
War The Temptations
Give Me Just A Little More Time Chairmen Of The Board
Much Too Much The Who
My Mind’s Eye Small Faces
Reach Out, I’ll Be There Four Tops
Uptight (Everything’s Alright) Stevie Wonder
Walking The Dog Rufus Thomas
(What A) Wonderful World Sam Cooke
Disguises The Who
I Got You (I Feel Good) James Brown & The Famous Flames
Batman Theme Neil Hefti

 

 

One thought on “Jukebox Classics #2: The Jam – How Can I Be A F****** Revivalist When I’m Only 18

Leave a Reply

