Times Of Our Lives: 1966

last of the secret agents

There was something which I had been meaning to do. I couldn’t remember what it was but it sprang immediately to mind when I was talking on social media…a brief post make up for it.

So, now I’m posting the midweek playlist. It’s an idea stolen shamelessly from Stew Black: a semi-autobiographical waltz through life which will keep me going for the best part of a year. As we discovered there are some years where there is a poor harvest, others when the pickings struggle to be contained within one playlist.

There was an element of that with today’s playlist; it’s taken three days – on and off – to whittle 1966 down to 25 songs. My year of birth; England’s World Cup win, I fear, was as oblivious to me as Beatlesmania or any other craze. I didn’t much care for music; being King of the Fisher Price disco was still some way off.

So, as with such matters, there’s some revisionism here: these are a selection of songs that my older self would have the younger me dancing to.

Enjoy this midweek playlist and I’m striving to resume normal service!

If, for some reason best known to the internet gods, the playlist doesn’t show below, you can open the playlist in your browser here.

Band Title
Ennio Morricone The Good, The Bad and the Ugly
Nancy Sinatra The Last Of The Secret Agents
Buffalo Springfield Burned
Simon & Garfunkel A Simple Desultory Philippic
Four Tops I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch)
Bob Dylan Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again
The Kinks A House In the Country – Mono Version
The Who So Sad About Us – Mono Version
Small Faces What’s A Matter Baby
Sam & Dave Soothe Me
The Yardbirds Happenings Ten Years Time Ago – Mono
Otis Redding Try A Little Tenderness
The Monkees Last Train To Clarksville
The Byrds I See You
The Temptations Give It Up
The Monks Monk Time
The Spencer Davis Group Watch Your Step – Mono Version
Los Bravos Black Is Black
Love Can’t Explain – Stereo Version
The George Benson Quartet Bullfight
Tim Buckley It Happens Every Time
Them, Van Morrison I Can Only Give You Everything
John Lee Hooker Shake It Baby
Fleetwood Mac Crazy About You (Can’t Hold Out Much Longer)
Tim Hardin Smugglin Man

Leave a Reply

